Results 1 to 11 of 11

I need some help - concerned about robot activity

This is a discussion on I need some help - concerned about robot activity within the Off-Topic & Chit Chat forums, part of the Focus on Members category; This is showing up in my sitemap activity files, mostly for the MSN bot and MSN is the site where ...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1

    Exclamation I need some help - concerned about robot activity

    This is showing up in my sitemap activity files, mostly for the MSN bot and MSN is the site where I have the least pages indexed.

    For some reason, these strings show up constantly from the msn bot

    archive/index.php/www.advantos-training.de/f-97.html

    archive/index.php/www.ffshrine.org/store-compare

    There are multiple versions of this. Are these websites somehow redirecting off of my archive pages? If so, what can I do about it?

  2. #2
    vBSEO Staff Oleg Ignatiuk's Avatar
    Real Name
    Oleg Ignatiuk
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Belarus
    Posts
    25,689
    Liked
    157 times
    Hi!

    I see that you have a link exchange block at your archive pages.
    Perhaps there were incorrectly entered links there, without "http://", like <a href="www.ffshrine.org">. As a result, they were followed as internal links.
    Oleg Ignatiuk / Crawlability Inc.
    vBSEO 3.6.0 GOLD Released!
    Unveiling the NEW vBSEO Sitemap Generator 3.0. - available NOW for vBSEO Customers!


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    no, that wouldnt be the case because it is the COOP code that is on all of my pages. Those are rotating ads and I am having these same 2 sites showing up all the time. This has been going on for several months now.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Michael's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Benson
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    776
    Liked
    0 times
    I have just checked your source code and it appears that you are placing the Digital Point Coop code literally at the top of the Archive code, even before the <head>, and DOCTYPE settings, perhaps if you where to place the code in the "archive_complete" segment (which would place the advertisements at the bottom of the page) but would perhaps make it more conventionally friendly to validators and search engine bots.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks, I will check that.

    Anybody got ideas on how these two sites are getting linked into my archive url's?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    After checking all throughout my archive index file I finally remembered that 3.5 uses a plugin for the code and that is where it automatically put it.

    Thanks for the plugin tip brent, I modified it and reinstalled it. code is now in the footer, and I also removed the adsense which was doing nothing for me in the archive anyway.

    Now, back to my problem How are these sites getting their url's into my archive? I have over 700 pages in yahoo indexed with ffshrine in the url. This is really concerning for me. I have sent an email to msn and yahoo, not sure what will come of that.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Michael's Avatar
    Real Name
    Michael Benson
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    776
    Liked
    0 times
    I can only assume that the URLs where in your archive through the Digital Point Coop Advertising network scheme, where someone happended to click on your displayed URLs and was thus recorded within the logs.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well, if anyone can help me out, that would be great. I can verify that it is not COOP advertising, I know of another site now that is having one of the same sites show up and COOP ads are not in that directory.

    When this started, COOP ads were not in my main directory.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have gotten a response from one of the search engines and amazingly one of these sites are no longer showing up in the SERPS.

  10. #10
    vBSEO Staff Oleg Ignatiuk's Avatar
    Real Name
    Oleg Ignatiuk
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Belarus
    Posts
    25,689
    Liked
    157 times
    Hm.. that is interesting: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...22&btnG=Search

    (or even http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...22&btnG=Search )

    I guess it may be a "server logs" kind of spam.
    Oleg Ignatiuk / Crawlability Inc.
    vBSEO 3.6.0 GOLD Released!
    Unveiling the NEW vBSEO Sitemap Generator 3.0. - available NOW for vBSEO Customers!


  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Real Name
    Michael
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,755
    Liked
    1 times
    Blog Entries
    1
    yeah, that is what I am beginning to think. What struck me weird was that a site like digitalpoint has the exact same 2 websites doing this.

Similar Threads

  1. How long I can see bot activity log?
    By vnjporg in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2006, 11:33 AM
  2. SE Bots Activity Details
    By fsb-holger in forum Bug Reporting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2005, 10:35 AM
  3. Log Spider Activity
    By Thomas Hoehl in forum Bug Reporting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-21-2005, 10:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •